Zion Episcopal Church, North Branford, CT
Zion Episcopal Church, North Branford, CT

The basic unit of the Episcopal Church is the diocese, a geographic area. It is headed by a bishop. (The word "Episcopal" comes from the Greek "episcopos" meaning overseer).

The Diocese of Connecticut includes the entire state. There are currently 170+ parishes and local eucharistic communities. Our diocesan bishop is the Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas, 15th bishop of Connecticut.

The diocesan bishop is assisted by, and works closely with a bishop suffragan, the Rt. Rev. Laura J. Ahrens. Based on 2010 parochial report data, there are about 59,200 baptized members in the Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut and average Sunday attendance is about 18,000. The annual business meeting of the diocese is called the Annual Convention, and takes place in late October. The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut is one of over 100 domestic and overseas dioceses in The Episcopal Church.

The Episcopal Church is one of 38 Episcopal or Anglican churches around the world that comprise the worldwide Anglican Communion.

Print | Sitemap
© Zion Episcopal Church